March 8, 2022

On Tuesday, March 8, 2022, at 9:00 a.m., the Police Jury of Sabine Parish, State of Louisiana met in open and special called session.

<u>AGENDA</u>

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Prayer
- 4. Pledge of Allegiance
- 5. Amend the Agenda
- 6. Adopt the Agenda
- 7. Cooperative Endeavor Agreement with Negreet Dixie Youth Rock
- 7a. Discuss Rail Spur
- 8. Mr. Cedrick Floyd Redistricting
- 9. Appoint Assistant Director of OEP
- 10. Executive Session
- 11. Adjournment

1. <u>Call to Order</u> President Ricky L. Sepulvado called the meeting to order.

2. <u>Roll Call</u>

The roll was called by the Administrative Assistant, Mrs. Lindy Strahan. The following jurors were present: Mike McCormic, William E. Ruffin, Stephen Steinke, Eric Garcie, Ricky "K-Wall" Sepulvado, Kenneth M. Ebarb, and "Randy" Byrd.

The following jurors were absent: "Bo" Stewart and "Jeff" Davidson

3. <u>Prayer</u> Prayer was led by Mr. William E. Ruffin.

4. <u>Pledge of Allegiance</u>

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Stephen Steinke.

5. Amend the Agenda

Public comments on the motion to amend the agenda were allowed prior to any vote to add an item to the agenda.

Resolution No. 8976

Motion by Byrd and seconded by Ebarb to amend the agenda to include the following items:

7a. Discuss Rail Spur

This resolution having been submitted to a vote; the vote thereon was as follows:

Yeas: 7 - McCormic, Ruffin, Steinke, Garcie, Sepulvado, Ebarb, and Byrd

Nays: 0

Abstain: 0

Absent: 2 – Stewart and Davidson

6. Adopt the Agenda

Resolution No. 8977

Motion by Steinke and seconded by McCormic to adopt the agenda as amended.

This resolution having been submitted to a vote; the vote thereon was as follows:

Yeas: 7 - McCormic, Ruffin, Steinke, Garcie, Sepulvado, Ebarb, and Byrd

Nays: 0

Abstain: 0

Absent: 2 – Stewart and Davidson

7. <u>Cooperative Endeavor Agreement with Negreet Dixie Youth – Rock</u> Mr. McCormic reported that the Negreet Dixie Youth had requested some assistance from the Police Jury in the form of rock. Mr. McCormic stated that he had examined the ballpark and he believes that approximately five (5) truckloads of rock will properly repair the area.

Resolution No. 8978

Motion by McCormic and seconded by Ruffin that the Police Jury enter a cooperative endeavor agreement with the Negreet Dixie Youth to provide five (5) truckloads of rock for the ballpark and to authorize the police jury president to execute said agreement.

This resolution having been submitted to a vote; the vote thereon was as follows:

Yeas: 7 - McCormic, Ruffin, Steinke, Garcie, Sepulvado, Ebarb, and Byrd

Nays: 0

Abstain: 0

Absent: 2 - Stewart and Davidson

7a. Discuss Rail Spur

Mr. Byrd recommended that the Police Jury investigate using the rail spur at the Pilgrims Feed location to receive rock by railcar. He noted that Mr. Marlin Britt now owns that property. The Road and Shop Committee was instructed to research obtaining a rail spur to receive rock for the Police Jury.

8. <u>Mr. Cedrick Floyd – Redistricting</u>

Mr. Cedrick Floyd addressed the Police Jury concerning redistricting of the parish, which is due in 2023. He provided the jurors a copy of Louisiana Revised Statute 18:532 pertaining to the establishment of precincts. The governing authority of each parish shall, by ordinance, adopt the establishment and boundaries of each precinct.

Mr. Floyd briefly explained the general provisions of Louisiana Revised Statute 18:532 and responded to questions from the jurors. The jurors reviewed the precincts proposed by Mr. Floyd and made several suggestions for boundary changes. Mr. Floyd will review the suggested changes and meet with the Jury at a later date.

9. Appoint Assistant Director of OEP

Mr. Ebarb reported that the Personnel Committee has met and recommends that Mr. David Davis, Director of the Sabine Parish Office of Emergency Preparedness recommend an individual to the full Jury to be considered for the position of Assistant Director of the Sabine Parish Office of Emergency Preparedness. The assistant director will have a normal work schedule of twenty-four (24) hours per week (three (3) eight (8) hour days) with a rate of pay of \$11.50 per hour. This is intended to be a part-time position for a period of twelve months.

Mr. David Davis, Director of the Sabine Parish Office of Emergency Preparedness recommended that the Police Jury hire Mr. Scott Gowen as Assistant Director of the Sabine Parish Office of Emergency Preparedness.

Resolution No. 8979

Motion by Ebarb and seconded by Byrd to establish a part-time position for an Assistant Director of the Sabine Parish Office of Emergency Preparedness for a period of twelve months with a normal work schedule of twenty-four (24) hours per week (three (3) eight (8) hour days) with a rate of pay of \$11.50 per hour.

This resolution having been submitted to a vote; the vote thereon was as follows:

Yeas: 7 - McCormic, Ruffin, Steinke, Garcie, Sepulvado, Ebarb, and Byrd

Nays: 0

Abstain: 0

Absent: 2 - Stewart and Davidson

Resolution No. 8980

Motion by McCormic and seconded by Steinke:

BE IT RESOLVED that Mr. David Davis, Director of the Sabine Parish Office of Emergency Preparedness, is hereby authorized to hire Mr. Scott Gowen as Assistant Director of the Sabine Parish Office of Emergency Preparedness for a period of twelve months, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the position of Assistant Director of the Sabine Parish Office of Emergency Preparedness be part-time with a normal work schedule of twenty-four (24) hours per week (three (3) eight (8) hour days) with a rate of pay of \$11.50 per hour, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Assistant Director of the Sabine Parish Office of Emergency Preparedness will not participate in the STEP plan or be eligible to participate in other fringe benefits available to full-time employees, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the employment of the Assistant Director of the Sabine Parish Office of Emergency Preparedness shall be effective April 1, 2022.

This resolution having been submitted to a vote; the vote thereon was as follows:

Yeas: 7 - McCormic, Ruffin, Steinke, Garcie, Sepulvado, Ebarb, and Byrd

Nays: 0

Abstain: 0

Absent: 2 – Stewart and Davidson

10. <u>Executive Session</u> No action taken.

11. Adjournment

Resolution No. 8981

Motion by Ruffin and seconded by McCormic to adjourn.

This resolution having been submitted to a vote; the vote thereon was as follows:

Yeas: 7 - McCormic, Ruffin, Steinke, Garcie, Sepulvado, Ebarb, and Byrd

Nays: 0

Abstain: 0

Absent: 2 - Stewart and Davidson

<u>s/William E. Weatherford</u> William E. Weatherford Secretary Treasurer s/Ricky L. Sepulvado Ricky L. Sepulvado President